|Know Your Rights|
Just because you might not be 18 yet doesn’t mean that you don’t have the right to take charge of your sexual and reproductive health. Colorado has several laws that give you the right to get medically accurate sex ed, contraception and condoms. Keep reading for more info and be sure to check out Sex Etc. Sex in the States for even more!
Colorado law doesn’t require schools to teach sex ed, but if your school does provide sex ed it is required to be:
The age of consent is defined as the time you are old enough to legally consent or agree to sex. State law does not criminalize consensual sex when both parties are 17 years of age or older. Further, the law does not criminalize consensual sex with a minor less than 17 years old under certain circumstances. It is not a crime for a 15- or 16-year-old to have consensual sex with someone who is less than 10 years older. It is also not a crime for a minor who is 14 years old or younger to have consensual sex with another person who is less than four years older. Click here for more information.
All minors are allowed to get a birth control prescription without parental permission. Title X clinics can provide confidential services and do other things like pregnancy and STI testing, and reproductive health counseling. Go to our interactive map and click on your county to find one near you.
If you are under 18 years old you are required to have “parental notification” to get an abortion. This is not the same as parental permission - a parent or guardian just has to know what’s going on. If you are not able to notify a parent or guardian, you can ask a judge for permission.
The Guttmacher Institute CO profile (click on State Policies)
Advocates for Youth – Info on Sex Ed in Colorado
SIECUS – More info on Sex Ed in Colorado and other data